21# Visit the Seven New Wonders of the World

The New Wonders of the World and How to See Them


Authored By: Sarah Van Rensburg

Giza pyramid
There are Seven New Wonders of the World and only one remaining wonder of the ancient world, the pyramids of Giza. Not surprisingly, the Egyptian marvel surpasses all of the new wonders, attaining by the far the most votes of any of the seven final selections. You can see the Giza pyramid complex by taking advantage of any cruise deals that explore the Nile. You’ll find the pyramids on the west bank of the river, where the sun-worshipping ancients believed tombs should be placed.

Chichen Itza
Number one on the new list is Chichen Itza, the pre-Hispanic city on the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico. Located between the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean, this home of the famous Mayan pyramid can be visited while you are on a cruise in either tropical paradise. If you’d like to extend that cruise you can visit the second wonder, the 40 metre tall statue of Christ the Redeemer that towers above the city of Rio de Janeiro.

The Coliseum in Rome

Third on the list can be reached on a cruise ship also, but it will have to be a Mediterranean cruise. The Coliseum in Rome to many is much more than just a monument, it is a symbol of the city that once ruled the world and still dominates the culture, language, and government of most of Europe and the United States. The ruined amphitheatre, once a scene of bloody gladiatorial contests and mock sea battles, has also been used by the Catholic Church for lodging and sanctuary for those in need.

The Great Wall of China
Number four is a bit more complicated to get to. The Great Wall of China originally ran along the border of Inner Mongolia, ending at Shanghai Pass in the Bo Hai Sea. Mutianyu, just northeast of Beijing, is where the most well-preserved section of the Great Wall still remains and is open for tourists. It is not the original Great Wall. That was built in 220 BC and little of it remains. What you see today was built in the Ming Dynasty of the 14th and 15th Centuries AD.

Macchu Picchu in Peru
You’d be better off chartering a plane instead of trying to get a cruise or even an overland tour package that includes number five on the Seven Wonders list. Macchu Picchu in Peru, the lost city of the Incas, was built in 1430 AD on mountain ridge 2,430 metres above sea level. It was designed as a hidden fortress for the Incan people and is intentionally difficult to get to so be prepared to do a little climbing.

Jordanian city of Petra
Number six, the Jordanian city of Petra, carved from solid rock, can be accessed via the Red Sea.

Taj Mahal
Number seven is the Taj Mahal in the town of Agra, India on the Yamuna River. Each of them is easily accessible and a major tourist attraction that is open for viewing. This most recent list of Wonders was finalised in 2007 and all of the sites on it underwent refurbishment. Each of the governments where these sites are located invested large amounts of money into them for the contest, making them even more of a wonder for you to see today.

About Author:

Sarah Van Rensburg is a travel lover and avid writer, focussing on a number of travel topics including cruise deals like those available at: http://www.thomascook.com/cruise

Article Source:http://www.freearticlesinc.com/view_article-id-7710-at-The-New-Wonders-of-the-World-and-How-to-See-Them.html

Keywords: cruises